W6/NC-407 Richardson East Benchmark (337m)

Since it had been a long time since I did a SOTA activation, I did a low-key hike to try out an Elk log periodic antenna, going to Richardson East Benchmark near Sausalito. I parked at the Park & Ride on Spencer Avenue to get to the Morning Sun Trailhead and got going up 0.3 miles of a switchbacking staircase until I got to the Alta Trail, where I took it south. After making it to Wolfback Ridge Road (there’s a sign telling hikers to stay away from the homes that way), I followed a chained service road the rest of the way up while rain showers and wind started to pick up.

Once I saw the radio towers, I knew I had made it. It continued to rain and breeze while I got set up, but about twenty minutes after getting set up, the weather cleared up a bit and I was able to get some pictures of the spectacular views. Even with the Elk antenna, I had a good deal of noise on 2m (often S9) from the tower, which made it very hard for me to hear some chasers. I’m thankful for their patience!

richardson

One comment

  1. Pingback: W6/NC-417 – Reactivating Abrott Benchmark and Hiking Kennedy Grove | Tom Zajdel

Leave a Reply

